Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―

HomeNewsGITTA 2024: TechFocus24 Managing Editor wins ICT Reporter of the Year

GITTA 2024: TechFocus24 Managing Editor wins ICT Reporter of the Year

The Managing Editor of TechFocus24, Samuel Dowuona has for the second time been honored with a prestigious award at the 13th Ghana Information Technology and Telecoms Awards (GITTA) this year.

Samuel Dowuona was adjudged ICT Reporter of The Year, an award he won at the 11th edition of GITTA in 2021, doing record as the first journalist to ever win a GITTA since its inception.

CEO of and multiple award-winning tech journalist, Samuel Dowuona was honored at this year’s Ghana Information Technology and Telecoms Awards (GITTA) for his “Outstanding Contribution to ICT Reporting”. 

This was the 11th edition of the GITTAs and Sammy Dowuona was the first ever journalist to have been honored at the prestigious industry awards.

CEO of Instinct Wave, organizers of the GITTAs, Akin Naphtal cited Sammy’s consistency in supporting the tech industry with educative and inciteful articles for more than a decade as the reason for selecting him for honors this year.

He disclosed that by close of year, Instinct Wave will hold a separate awards scheme specifically for journalists contributing consistently to ICT industry in Ghana and beyond.

Over 50 awards were given to organizations and individuals for their contributions towards Ghana and Africa’s digital transformation.

This year’s awards was special, because it was a two-in-one affair – comprising of awards under GITTA categories and a separate set of awards under the Africa Digital Economy Awards.

The big winners for the night were MTN with seven awards, and Vodafone with five awards. AirtelTigo managed to walk away with one award.

Whereas MTN Ghana CEO, Selorm Adadevoh emerged the Telecom CEO of the Year, Vodafone Ghana’s CEO walked away as the proud Industry Personality of the Year.

Of particular note were two customer services related awards, all of which went to MTN -Customer Experience, Customer Service Team of the Year.